The government must prove you:
If there is insufficient proof of either, our Houston drug criminal defense lawyers will push for complete dismissal.
If the officer used a field test during your drug arrest, to a qualified drug attorney the results are meaningless. Drug Field test are nothing more than unreliable, junk-science and inadmissible in court.
If any of the officer’s actions were unlawful, then our Houston drug criminal defense lawyers should get the evidence suppressed.
With a 40% dismissal or not guilty rate our Houston drug criminal defense lawyers aggressively stand against the government providing you with the best possible outcome. Criminal drug accusations and convictions can have an lasting effect on your future. The Adamo & Adamo Law Firm has a Houston drug lawyer who has successfully defended persons accused of both Federal and State drug crimes. Don’t just take it from us, read our reviews and testimonials, and see what former clients have to say. We look forward to working for and with you as your drug defense lawyers.
The Texas Health and Safety Code divides Texas Drugs into five penalty groups, plus Marijuana. The punishment range for a drug offense is determined by both the type & quantity of the drug. The charts below list general penalty and punishment ranges and do not take into account potential enhancements (e.g. manufacturing, intent to deliver, school zones, prior convictions, etc).
|Penalty Group||Weight||Punishment||Punishment Range|
Cocaine; Heroin; Meth; GHB; Oxycodone; Hydrocodone;
< 1 gram
|State Jail Felony||180 days – 2 years; up to $10,000 fine|
|1 – 4 grams||3rd Degree Felony||2 – 10 years/$10,000|
|4 – 200 grams||2nd Degree Felony||2 – 20 years/$10,000|
|200 – 400 grams||1st Degree Felony||5 – 99 years/$10,000|
|> 400 grams||Enhanced 1st Degree||10 – 99 years/$100,000|
|< 2 oz.||Class B Misdemeanor||180 days/$2,000 fine|
|2 – 4 oz.||Class A Misdemeanor||1 year/$4,000 fine|
|4 – 5 lbs.||State Jail Felony||2 years/$10,000 fine|
|5 – 50 lbs.||3rd Degree Felony||10 years/$10,000 fine|
|50 – 2000 lbs.||2nd Degree Felony||20 years/$10,000 fine|
|> 2000 lbs.||1st Degree Felony||99 years/$50,000 fine|
Possession of a drug paraphernalia in Texas is a class C misdemanor punishable by a fine up to $500 and no jail time.
A dangerous drug in Texas is defined in Health and Safety Code Section 483.001 as a device or a drug that is unsafe for self medication and that is not included in Schedules 1 through V or Penalty Groups 1 – 4 of Chapter 481 (Texas Controlled Substances Act). The term includes a device or a drug that bears or is required to bear the legend: (A) “Caution: federal law prohibits dispensing without prescription ” or “Rx only” or another legend that complies with federal law; or (B) “Caustion: federal law restricts this drug to use by or on the order of a licensed veterinarian.” Possession of a dangerous drug less than 28 grams is a Class A misdemeanor punishable up to one year in jail and up to a $4,000 fine. Possession of a dangerous drug greater than 28 grams is a felony offense.
Texas Health and Safety Code 481.002(5) defines a controlled substance as a drug, an adulterant, and a dilutant, listed in Sechedules I through V or Penalty Group 1, 1-A, 2, 2-A, 3, or 4. The term includes the aggregate weight of any mixture, solution, or other substance containing a controlled substance. A controlled substance can be prosecuted as either a misdemeanor or felony depending on the weight of the drug.
Penalty Group 1 in Texas consists of drugs such as cocaine, heroin, meth, GHB, Oxycodone, Hydrocodone, amongst others. The punishment for possession of a controlled substance in penalty group 1 ranges from a state jail felony all the way to a 1st degre felony depending on the drug’s weight.
Based in Houston, Texas, the legal team of Adamo & Adamo has been hired both locally and nationally to represent persons accused of various drug charges.
Texas — Harris County, Houston — Conroe, Texas — Fort Bend County — Brazoria County — Galveston County
3200 Travis 4th Floor Houston, TX 77006