Is hemp legal now? the Drug Enforcement Agency’s (DEA) and the Food and Drug Administration’s (FDA) responses will tell.
*Update: December 21, 2108: the FDA is on the record saying until the new regulations (Farm Bill Act) officially take effect, the FDA will continue strict enforcement of all cannabis products. The good news for those in the hemp industry is the FDA is open to start looking more closely at CBD, including steps toward the lawful marketing and selling of the products.
Cannabis oils in Texas
Cannabis oils are illegal in Texas. In fact, you are committing a felony and don’t even know it.
Maybe it’s for a bachelor party.
Maybe it’s for a business trip.
Maybe you are looking to escape the Texas heat.
Whatever the reason, you have just touched down at Denver International Airport and you are determined to emphasize the “High” in “Mile-High.”
Just make sure what happens in Colorado, stays in Colorado.
You be surprised how many vape pens, cannabis oil cartridges, and edibles find their way into visitors golf bags, ski bags and luggage. While legal in Colorado, the cannabinoid oil that fuels the vaporless pen is a felony in Texas. The paraphernalia itself is a misdemeanor.
What is Cannabis Oil?
Cannabis oil (also known as: marijuana oil, hash oil or wax) is a thick, sticky, resinous substance made up of cannabinoids, such as THC and CBD. It is obtained by separating the resins from cannabis flowers using a solvent extraction process. Cannabis oil is not only the most concentrated form of cannabis, but also the most potent. In other words, it does the job and can be found at any dispensary in Colorado.
What is the Punishment Range for Possession of Cannabis Oil in Texas?
This marijuana derivative is a controlled substance in Texas, falling into penalty group 2. For example, possess less than a gram and face up to two years in a state jail facility and up to a $10,000 fine. Possess more than one gram and face the possibility of a third-degree felony, up to ten years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine. Possess more than four grams and face the possibility of a second-degree felony, up to 20 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.
So if you find yourself in Colorado to hit the slopes, take in a Broncos game or add twenty-five yards to your driver, make sure what happens there stays there.
See Texas Health & Safety Code Section 481.002(26), 481.103, and 481.1031.