- Former Houston Area Prosecutor.
- Former Houston Counsel for the Police Union.
- Board Certified Texas Criminal Law Specialist.
- “…one of the outstanding criminal defense attorneys in Houston…”-Houston Chronicle.
- ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️Rating on Google, Yelp, EZLocal and Avvo.
- Houston DWI.
With over fifty years of combined DWI defense experience, our nationally recognized Houston DWI criminal defense lawyers are dedicated to providing you with high-quality solutions using innovative DWI criminal defense.
Contact our attorneys to learn more about DWI in Houston and surrounding counties!
If you are keeping track, the offense of Driving While Intoxicated can fall into a number of different punishment ranges. First-time offenders are generally charged with a Class B misdemeanor; 2nd DWI offenders are generally charged with a Class A misdemeanor; 3rd DWI offenders, DWI with a child passenger, Intoxication Assault, and Intoxication Manslaughter round out felony offenses. There are also additional penalties and enhancements associated with DWIs.
ADDITIONAL PENALTIES AND ENHANCEMENTS (Houston DWI – Texas DWI)
|DWI – Open Container||DWI w/ Blood Alcohol Level (BAC) 0.15/+|
|Offense Level||Class B Misdemeanor||Class A Misdemeanor|
|Punishment Range||6 days – 6 months in jail and/or up to a $2,000 fine.||0 days – 1 year in jail and/or up to a $4,000 fine.|
|Interlock Required as a “Condition of Probation”||Yes, if under the age of 21||Yes|
|License Suspension||90-365 days but the suspension is stayed upon completion of the DWI education program (unless under the age of 21, than mandatory 1 yr. suspension).||90-365 days but the suspension is stayed upon completion of the DWI education program (unless under the age of 21, than mandatory 1 yr. suspension).|
|Credit for Time Served||Yes, unless under 21||Yes, unless under 21|